We are honored to create a custom hand painted circa sign for Kirby’s Mill in Medford, New Jersey. Kirby’s Mill is the crown jewel of the Medford Historical Society and the iconic symbol of Medford Township, Burlington County. Kirby’s Mill was placed on the National Register of Historic Sites in 1972.
Based on our 15″x11″ solid cedar french corner sign plaque, the Kirby sign was widened by four inches to achieve a bigger scale against the very wide and very tall dimensions of the mill that faces Church Road. The Kirby circa sign measures 20″ x 11″, made from solid Western Red Cedar, with french corners cut from all corners. The finely routed beaded edge sets up the front surface like a gilded frame does fora work of art. Size-wise it’s more like the double-sided hanging signs we make.
Several wood primer coats and several top coats of antique white serve as the base for the hand lettered and hand painted text KIRBY’S MILL c. 1778. We prepare a computerized layout for review by the customer but we do not use it as a template for the actual lettering. Our process is totally hand layout and hand painted.
After hand lettering the historic circa sign, the painted wood plaque received several coats of a UV-protecting clear coat to protect the original antique white base and the black lettering enamel. After securing the sign with two screws, matching painted wood buttons are fitted and glued in place to cover the holes and seal out moisture.
Located in Medford, New Jersey, Kirby’s Mill was a gristmill and sawmill completed and in operation by the spring of 1778.
Kirby’s Mill was declared a State Historical Site in July of 1971, and was placed on the National Register of Historic Sites in September of 1972.